D T H
Click Here for key
Design and technology
Leisure and Tourism
Turton Tower evolved from being a simple stone Pele tower, which was built around 1420 as a defensive fortress, to an impressive and comfortable residence by the Tudor and early Stuart period. The simple stone structure was added to with timber extensions by the Orrell family transforming it to a lavish house.
The tower was purchased by Humphrey Chetham in 1628. The Orrell’s continued to live on at the tower renting the tower from him. During the civil (1642-1650), the Orrell’s were Cavaliers where the Chethams supported the Roundhead and this must have made for interesting times at the tower when Chetham garrisoned his troops within the Turton estate!
The Greene and Frere families were the owners in the late 18th and early 19th centuries and they continued this tradition of keeping houses elsewhere although the house was occupied for some time by members of the Horrocks family who are still numerous in this area.
The arrival of the Kay family in 1835 saw Turton Tower transformed into a romantic Gothic building. They changed the south front, built a ‘mock tudor’ extension and rebuilt the Summer House which is now on private ground but can be viewed from the tower.